UNION LAKE, Mich. – (November 27, 2019) – Adrian College (14-0-0) maintains the top spot in the 2019-2020 American Collegiate Hockey Association Men’s Division 1 Ranking No. 9.  The Bulldogs hammered Kent State University both nights to sweep their conference series.  Samuel Spaedt paced the attack with 4 goals on the weekend while Mark Fratarcangeli, Dominic Moore, and Emanuel Silverio each chipped in 3 goals. 

No. 2 Minot State University (9-1-2), the defending Men’s Division I National Champions of the American Collegiate Hockey Association, pounded Williston State College 11-1.  Johl Swedlo had a five point night, including three goals, while Adam Wowryk had two goals and an assist.

No. 3 University of Michigan-Dearborn (13-1-1) swept their conference series over Rochester University (9-6, 13-3).  Justin Dunn had a nine point weekend for the Wolverines, including four goals in Friday’s victory, while Nic Laburn tallied eight points (4 goals, 4 assists) and Dawson Richard had seven points (4 goals, 3 assists). 

No. 4 Lindenwood University (11-5-0) hit the road to Bird Arena in Athens, Ohio and came away with a split against Ohio University in conference play.  Ryan Finnegan wasted no time in his first action back from injury by tallying two goals, including the game winner, on Friday night as the Lions won 4-1.  Saturday, Ohio escaped with a 2-1 win as Tyler Harkins buried the breakaway game-winning goal late in the second period.  At the other end, the Lions couldn’t crack Bobcat Goaltender Jimmy Thomas, who spurned their attack with 32 saves. 

Rounding out the Top 5 is University of Arizona (15-2-2), which swept University of Nevada-Las Vegas at the “Madhouse on Main Street” in Tucson, Ariz.  Thursday night, Anthony Cusanelli netted the game winner while Anthony Ciurro made 41 saves as the Wildcats eked out a 2-1 victory.   Saturday afternoon, the Wildcats completed the sweep with a 4-1 victory as Cusanelli and Bayley Marshall each had a goal and an assist while Ciurro had another 27 saves.

Moving into the polls this week is No. 21 Stony Brook University and No. 22 Missouri State University while McKendree University and New York University drop out of the Top 25.

The Central States Collegiate Hockey League (5) leads the way with all of its member teams ranked, while the Western Collegiate Hockey League has five (of 7) of its member teams ranked, the Great Lakes Collegiate Hockey League has four (of 7) of its member teams ranked, and the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference has three (of 6) of its member teams ranked.

The ACHA uses two computer rankings generated by USHSHO.com, Ranking A (Wins with Maximum Goal Differential of 7) and Ranking B (Wins with Maximum Goal Differential of 1), and come up with an average of the two rankings.  The ACHA will then use the list generated from the average for its weekly ranking.  Ties will be broken using the higher ranked team from Ranking B until the Top 25 teams are listed.  All games that go to overtime will be scored as ties in the computer ranking.

Over the past 17 seasons, 12 different schools have won the ACHA Men’s Division I National Championship: Lindenwood (3), Central Oklahoma (2), Illinois (2), Minot State (2), Adrian, Arizona State, Davenport, Delaware, Oakland, Ohio, Penn State, and Rhode Island.

Now in its 29th season of action, there have been a total of 14 schools that have won the ACHA Men’s Division I National Championship:

  • Penn State (5 times)
  • Ohio (4)
  • Lindenwood (3)
  • Central Oklahoma (2)
  • Illinois (2)
  • Minot State (2)
  • North Dakota State (2)
  • Adrian
  • Arizona State
  • Davenport
  • Delaware
  • Iowa State
  • Oakland
  • Rhode Island

A total of 70 teams will compete in Men’s Division I this season, including eleven new teams: Aquinas College, Cleary University, Concordia University Ann Arbor, Grand Canyon University, Indiana Tech, Lawrence Tech, Maryville University, McKendree University, Midland University, Northern Illinois University, and Waldorf University. The sole team departing Men’s Division I is University of Arkansas.

The computer ranking will for the seventh time determine the 20 teams that qualify for the 2020 ACHA Men’s Division I National Championships, including the following six autobids:

  • (CHMA) College Hockey Mid-America (PLAYOFF CHAMPION)
  • (ECHA) Eastern Collegiate Hockey Association (REGULAR SEASON CHAMPION)
  • (ESCHL) Eastern States Collegiate Hockey League (REGULAR SEASON CHAMPION)
  • (GLCHL) Great Lakes Collegiate Hockey League (REGULAR SEASON CHAMPION)
  • (NECHL) Northeast Collegiate Hockey League (PLAYOFF CHAMPION)
  • (WCHL) Western Collegiate Hockey League (REGULAR SEASON CHAMPION)

The tenth ranking of the regular season will be released on Wednesday, December 11, 2019.

The 2020 ACHA Men’s Division I National Championships will be hosted March 19-24 for the second time by the Dallas Stars, Visit Frisco, and Children’s Health StarCenters at the Comerica Center, in Frisco, TX. This will be the ninth year of the 20-team format.

2019-2020 ACHA Men’s Division 1 Ranking #9
Rank School Name M1 Record Previous
1 Adrian 14-0-0 1
2 Minot State 9-1-2 2
3 Michigan-Dearborn 13-1-1 4
4 Lindenwood 11-5-0 3
5 Arizona 15-2-2 5
6 Liberty 16-3-0 6
7 Indiana Tech 15-2-0 7
8 Central Oklahoma 13-7-2 8
9 Illinois 11-4-1 13
10 Ohio 10-3-3 9
11 Jamestown 12-2-0 10
12 Oklahoma 13-3-0 11
13 Davenport 8-5-0 12
14 Nevada-Las Vegas 10-7-1 14
15 Arizona State 13-7-1 15
16 Iowa State 10-9-1 17
17 Calvin 6-1-2 16
18 Pittsburgh 16-1-0 19
19 Aquinas 8-6-2 18
20 Drexel 13-2-3 24
21 Stony Brook 10-6-0 NR
22 Missouri State 8-7-2 NR
23 Oakland 11-3-2 25
24 Robert Morris Illinois 11-7-2 20
25 McKendree 6-2-0 21