Oakland Hockey General Manager Corey Hagood has announced that forward Brendan Smith has been named The OU Hockey Rookie of The Year.

The end of the season awards were voted on by the Oakland ACHA DI Hockey players.

Smith scored 14 goals and 25 assists in his rookie season. He also finished second in points with 39 and his 25 assists was the most by any Oakland player. Smith was second on the team with five power play goals and second on the team with three game winning goals.

He recorded at least a point in 23 games averaging 1.18 points per game. Smith also recorded a point in 17 of the 21 Oakland wins this season. That was an average of 1.24 points per game in each Golden Grizzly win.

The previous two winners of the award were Chase Sereno (2018) and Joshua Pack (2019)

Graphic by OU Hockey Alum Joseph Guenther